The Shape of Water: A Reflection on Mirroring

architects Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramón Vilalta
written by Lovorka Prpić


Each building designed by these architects is special and is uncompromisingly of its time and place. Their works are always the fruit of true collaboration and at the service of the community. They understand that architecture and its surroundings are intimately intertwined and know that the choice of materials and the craft of building are powerful tools for creating lasting and meaningful spaces. For these reasons, exemplified in all their built work, and for their ability to express the local, but also the universal, uniting us with one another through architecture, Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta are awarded the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize. (from The 2017 Pritzker Prize Jury Citation; Jury Chair Glenn Murcutt)